Art mural

Asteré invites contemporary artists to interpret their work through wallpaper creations. An intimate take on art, freed from galleries and greeted in our homes.

As it encounters this new medium, art finds another materiality. Vertical. Flat. So how to make the move from stucco or ceramics to paper and inks? How to reimagine a creation? We see each collection as an occasion for a shared exploration with the artist, a proper encounter. This is a true pas-de-deux, where technique guides art and art guides technique.

In the privacy of our
homes, artworks engage an
immediate and terribly personal connection.

Art was born around the hearth. It made its debut on the rocky walls of prehistory. The rest is a well-known story: a life of representation for museums and collectors, a detour on a million views ceiling and a stint with deluxe vineyards. For old times' sake, Asteré takes art back to its original mural configuration in its birthplace, the house.

When artists take their work to the field of wallpapers, the whole question of transposition becomes a fundamental stake. Not just for the particulars of the execution itself but also in artistic and emotional terms. In a way, we are exploring a question as we make art and technique meet, a question that resonates strongly with the feeling of home. How to create new paths, closer to us, to make room for contemplation?

A coup-de-foudre
in art is a once in a
lifetime experience...

Art mural

Asteré invite des artistes contemporains à faire vivre leur oeuvre sur le papier peint. L'art fait littéralement le mur. Il quitte les galeries pour s'installer dans l'intime.

En s'incarnant dans le papier peint, l'oeuvre doit trouver une autre matérialité. Verticale. Plane. Il faut passer du plâtre ou de la céramique aux papiers et aux encres, réinventer sa création. Pour nous, chaque collection est donc une exploration commune avec l'artiste, une rencontre. Un véritable pas de deux, où la technique entraîne l’art et l'art entraîne la technique.

Dans la sphère privée,
l'oeuvre engage un rapport immédiat et terriblement
personnel

L'art est bien né dans un foyer. Il a vu le jour sur les murs rocheux de la préhistoire. Qu’a-t-il fait ensuite ? Il a fréquenté les musées, les maisons des collectionneurs, s’est offert un passage sur de célèbres plafonds et même jusque dans les vignes. Asteré rend hommage à ses racines en lui faisant retrouver le mur, dans son espace premier, la maison.

Lorsque les artistes interprètent leur création sur du papier peint, c'est toute la transposition de l'oeuvre qui est en jeu. Dans sa dimension plastique, mais aussi artistique et émotionnelle. Avec cette rencontre art-technique, nous explorons une question, une question qui résonne aussi avec la valeur refuge de nos intérieurs. Comment offrir d'autres voies, plus atypiques, à la contemplation ?

Il faut vivre le coup de foudre en art au moins une fois...